David Hockney

David Hockney, is an English painter, draughtsman, printmaker, stage designer and photographer. An important contributor to the pop art movement of the 1960s, he is considered one of the most influential British artists of the 20th century.

On the 13th of September, I visited the Mac Theatre Belfast where his exhibition “I draw, I do.” was being held. This new exhibition by artist David Hockney is the first significant presentation of his work in Ireland.

Marking his 80th year, the exhibition focuses on Hockney’s formative years at Bradford Regional College of Art, right through to his most recent work. It also includes work from his famous Paper Pool series.

As I entered the gallery the piece “Tall Black Trees” dominated the room and instantly caught my attention so I completed a quick pen study of his work.

These are a few of my images and sketches collected during the gallery visit.

Leave a comment